Assessment Panel

Profile of Members – October 2015

Oonagh McDonald CBE (Chair):

Oonagh is a British academic and businesswoman, and a former Labour Party politician. She is currently Complaints Commissioner for the London Metal Exchange and a member of International Monetary Fund’s Expert Roster. She was previously a director of the UK Financial Services Authority. She was a Member of Parliament from 1976 to 1987 and Opposition Spokesman on Treasury and Economic Affairs from 1983-1987. In 1998, she was awarded the CBE for services to financial regulation and business.

David Lascelles:

David is a senior fellow and joint founder of the CSFI (Centre for the Study of Financial Innovation). David has authored many of the Centre’s papers, including its popular “Banana Skins” series on financial risk. Before joining the CSFI in 1996, David was with the Financial Times where he held a number of senior positions including New York Correspondent, Banking Editor and Resources Editor. He is author of several books on banking, and has been active in academia and bank governance

Sue Lewis:

Sue was appointed Chair of the Financial Services Consumer Panel in July 2013. She is a Consumer Advocate Member of the Chartered Insurance Institute’s Professional Standards Board, and also a Trustee of the Personal Finance Education Group and of StepChange, a debt advice charity. As a consultant, Sue has advised clients on consumers and financial services. She previously held a variety of senior policy roles in the Civil Service, and was Head of Savings and Investments at the Treasury.